Player Feedback

We invite feedback on rule ideas and game strategy. Please email info@bin-fa.com to have your suggestions for game play posted on this page and updated throughout Bin'Fa's social media.

------------------------------------------------------

Initial Game Set Up:

Game Herald, Craig Roberston, had this suggestion:

"I would recommend including an introductory scenario, where all the elements are pre-placed for a balanced first game. It seems as if a lot of strategy goes into game setup, so it would be helpful to have some of that thinking worked out for you during your first experience with the game."

So here it is Craig: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The set up here is Yellow Army vs Green Army.  (In the accompanying photo we have used the enhanced pieces  - Pyramids for terrain markers and triangles for vortex markers - these replace the black and white checker pieces.)

YELLOW ARMY:

The Yellow supply marker is set up at the beginning of the Yellow Army's Home Base Supply Sector. This placement gives it the most opportunity to land on a Yellow Supply Sector Marker (as there are 3 straight ahead) giving it the opportunity to collect supplies straight away.

In the Yellow battle sector, Yellow Army Units are set up in a strong defensive position.  The Yellow General (small pawn piece) is impregnable; it can't be dislodged into the vortex (because no piece on the board can ever push a general- even another general) AND it is blocking entry through the vortex into Yellow's battle sector, as no other Army unit can come through that vortex marker. 

Three stacks of 4 Army Units each are place in a defensive set up whereby none of these units can be surrounded as the center triangle is cut off. Having stacks of 4 Army units is good for movement as they can move as one stack, but split into two stacks to surround enemy Army units once in play. 

GREEN ARMY:

As with the Yellow Supply marker Set Up, so is the placement of the Green Supply Marker, again, to take advantage of the upcoming three green supply sector markers.

The Green Army is taking advantage of the terrain in its initial set up position, which in this set up has a mountain range passing through the Green Battle Sector. The Green Army Units are also divided into three stacks of 4 Army Units each.

The two stacks at the tip of the Green Battle Sector are placed so that in just two moves, the stack at the tip of the triangle can move into the Orange Battle Sector, and the stack just below it can move into the Red Battle Sector.  This positioning will increase Green Army's odds of collecting supplies on a Supply Roll as the Supply Marker will be able to collect supplies when it lands on a Green, Red or Orange Supply Sector Marker, as Green's Army Units are inhabiting those spaces.

The position of the Green General is again an impregnable one, as the space between the two terrain markers, at the back of the General, cannot be occupied as there is no way for an Enemy Army Unit to move into it, and the General cannot be dislodged and forced to move back into that space either.

Both Armies have good access to Vortex Markers and can use these to split, divide and move upon the enemy armies. 

------------------------------------------------------

The Weather Die:

This is a six sided, six colored die (pictured).  Upon your turn, should you choose to move your army, you would roll the weather die first.  The color that comes up would indicate bad weather in that color's battle sector, thereby making it impassable.  Weather is an integral part of warfare, and this die adds that exciting element to Bin'Fa.
- From the inventor, Ken Hodkinson

------------------------------------------------------

"The one rule I know that I thought in the old version that needed to be changed is the 2 piece requirement on each side when capturing. It means that you must have 4-6 pieces to be able to play at all once you drop to 3 pips on the board you are basically out. People should be able to separate the army units all the way down to 1 and still be able to surround the opponent. It is a SUPER risky move because if they roll a double right in the middle of the move they have all of those army units exposed and able to scooped up by a passing army but it still should be a legal move to capture this way. If I have 3 or 4 pieces left I am down but not out. I can skillfully move around the board waiting for the right time to strike, separate my stack into 3 one piece armies, surround my opponent, re-stack get out of there before I get surrounded myself. It is like guerrilla warfare tactics." -Player Patrick Add Serio

------------------------------------------------------

"One thing strikes me still after all these years (of playing Bin'Fa - a Board Game favorite of mine).
In the supply track of each wedge, there are five colors shown. Three spaces are of the color home-based in that wedge, and then four other (seemingly random) other colors. It is the seemingly random portion that bugs me. For example, in the standard board shown on the main Kickstarter page, there is a point in the lower right side of the board where two purple spaces but up against one another (at the edges of the blue and green boards) -- this happens no-place else on the board.

My suggestion to make this a better overall pattern is this:

The game has six colors. Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, and Purple. Let us address these by their first letter (R, O, Y, G, B, P). Further, let us assume we arrange the boards with red at the top, and the other colors go clockwise; thus the R-wedge is between the P-wedge (on the left) and the O-wedge (on the right). Directly across from the R-wedge is the G-wedge, sandwiched between the Y-wedge and the B-wedge.

The R-wedge will, of course, have three R-spaces on the supply track. I suggest that the two outer supply-spaces be of the color of the wedge directly across from it (in this case, two G-spaces). The two inner spaces should then be the two colors that sandwich the opposing wedge (in this case, a Y-space, and a B-space). So, the R-wedge would have a supply track that looks something like this:
{G}-{Y}-{R}-{R}-{R}-{B}-{G}

As such, the supply track on the opposing G-wedge, would look something like this:
{R}-{P}-{G}-{G}-{G}-{O}-{R}

As such, all colors are equally represented, the same number of spaces is used to show those colors, and they never bunch up...
Just a thought."  Kenneth Ladage

------------------------------------------------------

Anthony Cholag, Bin'Fa player, submitted the following questions:

Question 1: If a general is blocking the only exit from a vortex, does that mean any player moving to that vortex is immediately lost (since they can't dislodge the general)?
Answer:  A player transiting the vortex must enter and leave the vortex as part of a single move. If all exits from a vortex are blocked, then there is no reason for a player to move units onto that vortex. If exit from the vortex is blocked by army units, a player may attempt to blast his way out with a superior force (see Dislodging Units from the Vortex, p.11)

Question 2: In the same scenario, if a general is surrounded on all sides EXCEPT the vortex, the general is still alive, correct?
Answer: Correct. This also applies to any stack of army units since they are not surrounded but are free to move into the vortex.

Question 3: Same scenario, if the general is surrounded on all sides except the vortex, and someone teleports in, would the general be captured immediately because it is surrounded? If the teleport action also surrounded the teleported piece, would they also be captured or does the opponent capture happen first and then leave a free spot open?
Answer: Once army units enter the vortex, they must immediately move to any other vortex and remain there until a second throw of the dice is made which determines whether they exit the vortex or die (if a double is rolled). Units occupying a vortex cannot contribute to surrounding enemy units because they are still in transit mode and the only move available is to exit.

Question 4: same scenario but if, instead of a General, there was an army of lesser size than the newly teleported army but the teleported army was still surrounded as soon as it teleported in, would the teleported army have a chance to dislodge the army blocking the exit from the vortex or would the teleported army be captured as soon as they teleported in?
Answer: Units temporarily occupying a vortex cannot be surrounded. If the teleported army lands on a vortex and all exits are blocked, then the only option available is to attempt to dislodge the blocking units with a superior force.

Question 5: If I am moving my army pieces around the board, and I have 3 moves remaining and move #2 takes me past my own army and surrounds them for that part of the movement but move #3 successfully moves me away from them so they are not surrounded anymore, would they still be captured? I feel like the answer to this question is yes because it looks like it is covered in the FAQ to say that traveling past an opponents army would immediately capture it and then you could continue with your moves.
Answer: An army while it is on the move cannot contribute to surrounding. In the case you cite if an army on the move temporarily boxes in other units, those units are not surrounded whether they are of the same or an opposing army. 

------------------------------------------------------

Quick Question: Given this about vortex moves: "Those Army Units [XX]
immediately move to any other Vortex Marker on the board for free." If a word was added at [XX], would it be "may" or "must" ?

Answer:  Must. They have to move to another vortex. They then have to wait on that vortex marker to come off on the next roll of the dice. Therein lies the risk!

------------------------------------------------------

Q: When exactly is a piece removed due to being surrounded? Is it immediately removed, or does the surrounding piece need to end it's movement capturing?

A: As soon as the trap is closed on the surrounded pieces, they are immediately removed from play. The army units that did the surrounding may stop further movement, with the player then relinquishing the dice, or the player may pay in a supply unit and continue moving that same army.

------------------------------------------------------

Q: When stealing supply from another player and they do not have enough chits do you take all of them, or do you have to take from the bank? (e.g. player a moves his supply pawn 6 spots and lands in player b's home base. B only has the supply; can A take the of those abandoning the rest, or do they have to take 6 from the bank?) 

A:  Player A, whose supply marker ends up on the central space of Player B. has a choice; if B is an ally, A takes supplies from the central store; if B is an opponent, A would steal from B. It has to be or the other. Sometimes a player has a choice between, say, taking five supplies from the central store or stealing two supplies from an opponent. That can be a tough choice.

------------------------------------------------------

Q: Can you voluntarily pass the dice if you have a unit in the vortex and have the supply to move it (choosing to sacrifice the unit to save supply), or do you have to try to move it away if you have the resources?

A: Army units entering one vortex are immediately moved to one of the others. The player moving them MUST then pay in a supply, roll the dice, and either move the units off the vortex (if a double wasn’t rolled) or remove them from play (if a double was rolled, thus ending the player’s turn.

------------------------------------------------------

Q: At what point is 'surrounded' determined? End of turn? End of a movement segment (no moves remaining)? During movement (at the moment surround happens)?

A: Army units occupying a single triangle are surrounded when a move by an opponent’s
army units seals off any exit from that triangle. The surrounded units are removed at once
and the attacking player may resume moving army units either from any remaining moves
left over or from a fresh roll of the dice.

------------------------------------------------------

Q: Can you surround a group of units?  They may have no open adjacent spaces, but they could stack-up on their next turn, so they can move (not to much effect).

A: A player can only surround units on a single triangle . Army units occuping two adjacent triangles cannot be surrounded because units on either triangle are free to move to the adjoining triangle.

------------------------------------------------------

Q:  Can you push units off the board, on those configurations where ordinary spaces end?

A:  If army units are dislodged in such a way that they would be pushed off the battle sector, then they would already have been surrounded. Units are lost be being pushed into the vortex or by being surrounded. They cannot be lost be being pushed off the battle sector.

------------------------------------------------------

Proud members of 

------------------------------------------------------

Sign up for Updates!

* indicates required
Website Designed & Maintained by CrossTimber - Websites © 2012    Updated May 28, 2017
Bin'Fa game artwork and content © 2009 Allsaid & Dunn, LLC.  All Rights Reserved